## JSCC Faculty Council Meeting Minutes April 25, 2012

The meeting began at 3:00 p.m. The following council members were present: <u>Council Members</u>: Bob Raines, Council Chair (Psychology); Emily Bates Fortner, Secretary (Sociology); Richard Coppings (Assistant Dean Sciences); Rob Wyatt (Nursing); Andrew Kelley (English); Carol Norman (ex-officio); Becca Rhea (Communication); Patty Easley (PTA); Don Brown (CIS); Jerry Gilbert\* (English); James Mayo\* (English); Kim Todd\* (Radiography); Kim Holland\* (Nursing) <u>Absent Council Members</u>: Powell Franklin, Vice-Chair (English); Dee Jones (Nursing); Shelia Holland (Nursing); Barbara Scott-Goodman (Nursing); Teri Maddox\* (English); Sara Youngerman\* (Agriculture) <u>Visitors</u>: Donna Johnsey (RCT)

Dr. Raines welcomed the newly elected faculty council members which are noted with an asterisk above.

Since JSCC is no longer participating in NISOD, the faculty council decided to facilitate the process of granting faculty and staff awards. Faculty were given the opportunity to nominate others for the various awards. The faculty council selected a sub-council to review nominations and recommend an award recipient for each category. Dr. Raines thanked the council for their work on this effort to recognize those deserving faculty and staff members. The following faculty and staff were selected: Teaching Excellence Awards – Sherry Vickers and John Koons; New Horizon Award - Emily Fortner; Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Awards – Cassie Flanigan and Jennifer Franklin; Outstanding Staff Award – Patti Tanski-Mego. Those receiving awards will be recognized at the Fall 2012 in-service.

During the recent Arts and Sciences academic audit, information about a "Master Teacher" surfaced. Dr. Nell Senter brought this information to the attention of faculty council. Dr. Raines investigated this role of the "Master Teacher" and it appears to be a higher rank/promotion for those faculty members who have a Master's Degree. This would mean that faculty with a Master's Degree could potentially earn the rank of "Master Teacher" after the Associate Professor rank. Bobby Smith was unaware of the "Master Teacher" position, but is going to look into the process and gain more information on this role of "Master Teacher". The information regarding this rank was found within the Matrix of Improvement Initiative. It appears this ranking is connected with Faculty Development. Faculty council plans to further investigate this role of the "Master Teacher" and is waiting to hear back from Bobby Smith.

Dr. Raines updated the council on faculty contracts. After a discussion with administration and Human Resources, the college plans to begin offering tenure track positions once a more comprehensive tenure process and mentoring procedure is implemented. As the college moves into this direction, they also plan to look at those current positions that are either temporary or term contracts and decide if these positions need to be tenure track.

Dr. Raines addressed an interesting issue regarding the election of new officers to serve for the 2012-2013 academic year. The current rule is that a faculty member serving in their 2<sup>nd</sup> year is eligible to hold the office of council chair. Traditionally that faculty member is also tenured. Of those current faculty council members who will be serving their 2<sup>nd</sup> year, only 1 faculty member has tenure. That faculty member has specifically requested to not serve as chair of the council for health reason. So the options would be to have a non-tenured faculty member serve as council chair, or suspend the rule and allow a newly elected faculty council member to serve as chair. The council discussed the concerns regarding both options. The council voted to suspend the rule for one year.

A motion was made by Dr. Richard Coppings to elect James Mayo as Faculty Council Chair; the motioned was seconded and approved unanimously. Kim Holland volunteered to serve as Faculty Council Vice-

Chair and the council approved unanimously. A motion was made to elect Sara Youngerman as Faculty Council Secretary; the motion was seconded and approved unanimously.

An end of the year gathering of faculty will be sponsored by the faculty council on Friday, May  $4^{th}$  at 11am under the trees near the ponds.

The meeting adjourned around 4:00 p.m.